hey facebook, I’m over you

photo 1-14I’ve been on Facebook since 2006. Eight years. In that time, I went on several international trips — Peru, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Cost Rica, Tanzania, Iceland. I ran my second marathon. I landed a dream job. I fell in love, had a baby, got married, quit my job, moved cross-country and had another baby.

And through all of this, I can’t recall Facebook ever making me feel bad. Until this summer.

There have been several articles about how Facebook makes people feel lonely or envious. This happens when people, I think, see photos of something they want — but either don’t have or can’t get. When a friend was trying to get pregnant, and ultimately went through in-vitro, she couldn’t stand seeing photos of babies on Facebook.

What got to me this summer was seeing photos of people laughing with their friends, and amazing summer-time scenes.

Summer in Ridgecrest is harsh. It’s too hot to spend much time outside during the day. (I get my fresh air at dusk after the boys are asleep).

What’s more, I started working in the mornings, and I’m in front of a computer from 8-12, the time I used to socialize. So not only am I far away from dear friends who live all over the country, but I’ve also been feeling even more isolated in a quiet place.

When I feel bad, I tackle it. What will get me back on track to feeling great? Exercise? A trip to see friends? Stop working? For starters, I deleted Facebook off of my phone. Now, I look at it seldom. So seldom that Facebook has started sending me messages — “Hey, E., look at what you’re missing!”

The site, to me, is the strangest beast. It makes me feel (kind of) connected to former colleagues. It opens the door to reconnect with long-lost friends. Sometimes, I crowd source for good reads or travel suggestions. But overall, the insincerity of it and the boastfulness of it and the well, faux social connection, makes me question its benefit. And really, it’s a complete time suck in a time when it feels like every moment is precious. I’d much rather read for a 1/2 hour than scroll through photos of people doing awesome things in beautiful places and longing to be where they are, instead of appreciating where I am. Because where I am is pretty damn great.

So, for now, I’m staying off of it. I’m spending time with the littles, like this one, who just turned six months old. And I’m truly the happier for it.

photo-24

5 Comments

Filed under baby, desert

5 responses to “hey facebook, I’m over you

  1. Joe

    So many people are going to hate me for saying this. . .but I don’t care. Welcome back to the Light side of The Force.
    Yes, I referenced Star Wars.

  2. salkillian@comcast.net

    Erin,  I partly agree with you.  I read mostly family comments and I learn things like Debbie is going back to Japan to teach.  I guess having a big family, FB helps me stay in touch, but I also talk on the phone and e-mail Love Mom

  3. Kara

    Erin, I completely agree with you! I have not had Facebook for many years now and I honestly don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything. I deleted it for the same reasons. When David was deployed I would find myself looking at everyone’s amazing pictures of gatherings and travels and it would just down right depress me. I’m a much happier person without it! Good for you! Reading is way more awesome than Facebook and being with your boys is even better! 👍😜

  4. Lilas K

    Agree, online life is not worth it, reality is the truth 👍

Leave a comment