my best books of 2015

I’m that person who scours the best-of book lists all year long, and, in doing so, I like to find personal blogs with lists of favorites, too, such as on Elephantine. Rachel is an aspiring writer/blogger in Seattle who offers monthly book recommendations, and they usually resonate.

Among my friends, I often get texts or emails in that vein. Last month, I received an email from a close friend in Michigan: “Any suggestions for feel good short stories? Reminders that there are happy, good people in the world? To help me get back to reading more??”

The text came about a week after the San Bernardino shootings. My friend, stretched thin lately, is a mother to two under 3 years old, works full-time, recently moved houses and her husband travels to the West Coast frequently.

I shot her a few suggestions, and she wrote back, “Thanks, I knew I was consulting the expert.”

I love feeling like I can help. So, hopefully this list will inspire someone who needs a good book recommendation (and yes, I know these lists usually come out in December, but better late to the game than never). Many of these — including “Our Souls at Night,” “Still Alice,” “Nightingale” — brought me to tears. I was drawn into all of them, often neglecting my husband in the evenings: “I’m going to go read.” I also read a few blockbusters, like “Girl on a Train,” but to me, the writing wasn’t strong enough to merit this list.

Here are my top nine books that I read in 2015, in no particular order:

  • “Our Souls at Night” by Kent Haruf
  • “Everything I Never Told You” by Celeste Ng
  • “Still Alice” by Lisa Genova
  • “All the Light We Cannot See” by Anthony Doerr
  • “Circling the Sun” by Paula McClain
  • “The Nightingale” by Kristin Hannah
  • “Station Eleven” by Emily St. John Mandel
  • “We Are Not Ourselves” by Matthew Thomas
  • “My Brilliant Friend” by Elena Ferrante (I have book no. 2 on my nightstand)

Happy reading!

4 Comments

Filed under books, fiction, Uncategorized

4 responses to “my best books of 2015

  1. I have All the Light We Cannot See waiting to be read, but I can’t workup the energy to get into it.

Leave a Reply

