taking a moment to be thankful

When A. and I were in New Jersey less than two weeks ago, A.’s best friend J. asked me if I was happy living in the desert.

“I’m pretty happy,” I replied. “Not extremely happy like this guy (I pointed to A., who was sitting on the carpet), but pretty happy.”

We joke that A. doesn’t need to be social — in fact, he likes being far away from people — whereas I miss long gab sessions with girlfriends over a glass of wine (and no kids around).

And then, about a week ago, I was walking the aisles of Albertsons while A. took C. to the playground (cause he has every other Friday off), and I admitted to S. on the phone that I said I was “pretty happy.” And that I was ashamed. Because, really?

I’m healthy. I’m in love with my husband. He’s healthy. We have a hilarious, loving 18-month-old who giggles constantly and says, “Mama, kiss?” and leans in with sparkling eyes. And he’s healthy and he takes three-hour naps and sleeps through the night. All of our parents are doing well. We live in a house full of light with a backyard full of fruit trees. We aren’t wealthy, but we aren’t penny pinching. And I’m “pretty happy?”

No, I’m really happy. I just wanted to take a moment and say that. I’m really happy. And I’m thankful. I’m thankful for this adventure and the ability to explore a different part of the country. I’m thankful I met A. I’m thankful we have C., who’s a crazy amazing kid. And I’m thankful we have our health. Sometimes, it’s nice to recalibrate and think a little bit harder about what comes out of our mouths. Because someday we will hurt, all of us. Me, A. and C. It’s part of life. And we’re not hurting at all right now. We’re exploring, relaxing and growing.

Here are a few things we’ve been up to this week.

1. Every morning, C. and I have been picking grapes off of our vines outside. As I open the back door, C. gets excited and shouts, “Gapes, gapes!”

Image

2. I’m finally, finally into a novel. I enjoyed Eowyn Ivey’s “The Snow Child,” which I read two months ago, but haven’t cracked anything intriguing until now. I’m reading, “The Sense of an Ending” by Julian Barnes, and I’m pretty sure I’ll finish it in three or four days.

3. This week, the sunsets (and the super moon) have been spectacular.

photo-50

Image

4. This little dude has been chasing me around the house with full belly laughs that can light up even the darkest day. And he’s been singing “Old MacDonald” quite clearly, which is a total joy.

photo-49

What about you?

13 Comments

Filed under family, happy, Uncategorized

13 responses to “taking a moment to be thankful

  1. Erica

    I’m happy you’re happy! I raced through “The Sense of an Ending” in London last year — I remember I finished it in the early morning hours one day while doing laundry in the basement of our hotel.

    • I thought about you as I wrote this post. I thought, “I wonder if Erica has read this book, it IS a British author.” And then I thought, “I miss getting books ideas from Erica.” Any other must reads as of late?

      • Erica

        Have you read Amor Towles’ “Rules of Civility”? I liked it because it was like watching a movie in book form (if that makes any sense). My most recent read was another Agatha Christie. In the summer, I always seem to be drawn to her. I’ve read “Murder on the Orient Express” every summer for the last few years — everything about it just suits me perfectly, especially the cold, snowy setting (the polar opposite of humid D.C.). I think I’m going to save it for August, when I’ll need it more. (So happy to “talk” about books with you! I also miss it!)

  2. Flicker

    You know, it’s OK to admit that although you’re truly happy and lucky in your personal life, Ridgecrest can be a little tough to handle at times. Anyone who would hold your “pretty happy” comment against you hasn’t lived there in the summer. Did it get to 114 degrees today, as predicted? Yes, it’s fascinating and gorgeous in a desert-y way, but it’s tough too, and it can be lonely. From reading your blog, it sounds to me as though you’re doing a wonderful job of experiencing all the great things the desert has to offer, and I hope you can GET AWAY from it for a little while this summer as well!

    • Ha, thanks Margaret! You’re right. Thanks. It can be a bit much — but I’m amazed I don’t think this heat is too bad. With no humidity it IS bearable. C. and I are off to Michigan and Chicago for two weeks in July, so that should help! Thanks for the support! Hope you’re doing great in Boulder (I’ve been following your blog!)

      • Flicker

        You’re right, humidity is worse, but when it gets over 110 for days on end, and over 100 every day month after month… well, let’s just say I’m glad I’m back in Boulder. Though Ridgecrest recovers along about mid-October, at which point it starts to snow in Boulder. No place is perfect. But Michigan will be fun — I used to love Ann Arbor in the summer, humidity and all. Hope you have a great trip.

  3. i just wanted to come over and thank you for stopping by my blog (that i keep ‘returing’ to, and then disappearing (i do plan on getting back into regular posting, eventually!) :). i am in the midst of planning for my daughter’s birthday, our vacation, and my husband’s graduation… but i WILL be back over here to read more. it sounds/looks right up my alley. are you on instagram?

  4. Be thankful you are in CA and on the west coast with no humidity, no huge bugs or constant threat of summer thunderstorms!

  5. Just a belated note to say I’m happy you’re happy, and hear, hear! on all of your sentiments above. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

