the land of meltdowns

Last week, A. and I crossed into the land of meltdowns (said with a booming voice) where storms can unleash with little warning. Our little helper — who loves to sweep, rubs down the floor with tissues and toddles to the trash can to throw away litter — gave me his first forceful “NO!” when I tried to change his diaper. It was accompanied by a little kick and I raised my eyebrow, like, “Really? You’re going to go there?”

In general, this kid is awesome. He wakes up in his crib and reads to his llama and owl for an hour. The other day I heard him counting. He giggles like crazy and has a new way of saying, “Hi!” that brightens up a room. He sings to himself, and says things like, “Mama, hat, on” when he wants me to put on a hat and “Book, couch” when he wants to read with me. He says “mama, nine” (that’s wine) and “papa, beer.” (Hmmmm…) He always says please (“peas”) and he grabs my face to give me kisses.

beautifulboyapril2013

And now there is this budding streak of independence and “no” is his new favorite word. Last week, he tried to shake off my hand and run into the street. I grabbed him, jerked him to safety and made him look me in the eye while I told him why that wasn’t OK. Major Meltdown. (A few drivers flashed me sympathetic smiles.) He has a new fascination with outlets and crouches down to see if he can look into the wall. Cool! Electricity! He drags us objects to plug in and we shake our heads, “No, buddy, how about we don’t plug in the curling iron where you can step on it?” Meltdown. He loves the food processor plunger, but we decided that hey, maybe that’s not a great toy so let’s lock that cabinet. Meltdown.

He’s only 16 1/2 months, but I’m seeing a rapid change. It’s natural development and A. and I agree that we’d worry if he didn’t go through this stage. And, really, he’s so much easier than when he was an infant and I had a trillion hormones coursing through me and his cries made me want to crawl into a corner, curl into a ball and rock. So much easier.

But I’m getting prepared for this new stage: I plan to put on a heavy raincoat and boots AND carry an umbrella as we enter the land of meltdowns.

8 Comments

Filed under family, funny, mom, parent, Uncategorized

8 responses to “the land of meltdowns

  1. I remember that stage with my son. Every age brings a different challenge but also brings many, many new wonderful memories. Good luck!

  2. Prathima Mistry

    That adorable and innocent face? I don’t believe it:) Keep us updated on how you handle it…I’ll need the advice!

  3. Dad

    OK. Get ready for the situation when he figures out how to do what he wants without you knowing. He is starting all this stuff younger than you’d expect, so he’ll be a continuing loveable challenge.

  4. bzh

    And don’t forget, the Land of Meltdowns is just the gateway to Eye-Roll Mountain and the I-Hate-You Sea. I have no doubt you will travel them all with grace and courage. Well, and espresso and wine and A. and his beer.
    🙂
    xoxo.

Leave a Reply

