desert shadows

When I moved to the desert, I noticed the shadows. Everywhere. Early morning, late afternoon, long shadows on the sidewalk, on the brick wall in our backyard, on the sand. C. notices, too, and points and I’ll jump up and down or wave my arms over my head or put out two fingers to exaggerate our figures. He’ll watch me and giggle. Yesterday, just before the sun set, I was holding C. on my hip near our front door and saw his shadow on the stucco — he still hasn’t quite grown into his head, his cheeks are like balloons and his lips are pink and full. I love his profile. I love this little boy.

Image

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “desert shadows

  1. Vikki olsen

    What a beautiful picture!

Leave a Reply

