secret mission

Yesterday, I got a code name. I went on a secret mission to pick up a very important object.

I was supposed to be at the Van Dorn metro station at 6:30. I hurried to Gallery Place Metro and waited for the train. The metro doors opened, and I stepped inside. I sat in an inconspicuous seat and put my head down, peering out the train window.

The message was cryptic: “When you get to Van Dorn, exit left. It’s in the second phone booth in the top right hole.”

I got off the train and exited left. I saw two phone booths. Nothing. I started to sweat.

I took the escalator down from the platform and exited the station and saw two more phone booths. There it was, placed discreetly in the top right hole. I looked around me, grabbed it quickly and put it my pocket.

I re-entered the metro station. When I got back to the platform, the overhead speaker said, “This is Homeland Security. If you see any suspicious behavior, please report it to the authorities.” There was a woman about 100 yards away. I looked at her out of the corner of my eye, but she seemed uninterested in me.

When I got on the train, I shot off a text: “Wild tico, wild tico, this is red fox. Mission accomplished.”

When I got back to my office, I took the elevator down to P2 in the garage. And I inserted the object into the red Mazda.

Mission accomplished.

(I had locked A.’s key in the car on the first day I had it in my possession. Yep, I really did. His AAA card was at my apartment and his buddy C. had the spare key. I sent A. an email that said, “Your girl is an idiot.” He called me that afternoon laughing and said, “I’m glad I’m not the only one who does that.”)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

