working nights

I’ve had a thrill working nights this week (5 p.m. to about 1:30 a.m.) to help cover the conventions. About 10 of us sit in what’s called the “hub” (all of the computers together, facing each other). Facilities brings in a large spread of food each evening (pizza, sandwiches, empanadas). We load up our plates. And then reload them. There’s a relaxed sense at the office — we all wear jeans, we banter more. My boss told me I couldn’t get dessert until I finished my plate of fruit (yes, he’s a dad.) I told him he couldn’t leave until he gave me a headline (you got that headline yet?)

And I love having my days to get stuff done (I went to the dentist, got a haircut, went for a few runs).

And still – I’m exhausted. And at about 1:30 a.m., my brain is just not that sharp and I move slowly. And it’s kind of lonely getting home at 2 a.m. while everyone is sleeping and I still want to unwind and talk about my day.

One more week on the night shift, and I think I’ll be good and ready to go back to my day job.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, work

Leave a Reply

