against intuition

I like to think I learn pretty quickly, and I can adapt relatively easily.

But it’s been more than a year since I’ve lived in my D.C. apartment and I still, for the life of me, can’t remember that on each light switch that has two flips (there’s six in the house), I will need to flip the one that goes against any intuition. 

Like, in the half bathroom, there are two switches – one for the fan and one for the light. The one for the light is further away from the doorframe. Now, that doesn’t make sense, does it? Who needs a fan before they need a light in the dark? I flip the wrong one every single time.

This is all just to say that I’m sorry to Mother Earth for all of my energy wasting. And to whomever installed the switches, this is one cruel joke. Give me another year, maybe I’ll stop flipping the wrong one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

