bon jovi

I’m going to the Bon Jovi concert tomorrow night at the Verizon Center.

My coworker, who is five years older than me, was fishing to see if I was old enough to remember the songs when they were popular. He told me about rocking out to “Livin’ On a Prayer” in high school.

Now, as a disclaimer, I am terrible with song names and lyrics. When I was in high school, I thought the lyrics to Shanice’s song “I Love Your Smile” were instead “I Am Just One.” How that sounds like the other, I have no idea. My brother heard me sing that one time and laughed and laughed. It’s because I have bad hearing and overcompensate. I had chronic ear infections when I was little, my adenoids taken out, tubes put in my ears — and I used to have a lisp because I couldn’t hear how to say my s’s.

Anyway, when J. and I had this conversation Tuesday afternoon, I was tired. Very very tired. I had told him so. I had woken up in the middle of the night at 3 a.m. feeling crappy and had to take some Excedrin and fumble around in the dark for a heating pad.

Anyway.

To boast my knowledge of Bon Jovi (I really do have his “Cross Road” album), I said: “I used to get pumped up for every soccer game in high school by listening to ‘Bed of Glory.'”

“Um,” he said, “Isn’t it ‘Blaze of Glory?'”

And then:

“You must be tired.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “bon jovi

  1. vsinha

    when i was little, i thought the genesis song, “invisible touch,” was called, “she sees the hat and…” (yes, i had included the ellipsis back then too, and this refers to phil collins’ line, “she seems to have an invisible touch, yeah” from the chorus) anyway, my brother happened to see my version of the title on one of many mix tapes i made from the radio back then, and he considered it to be the funniest thing he’d ever seen. he even finished the line for me: “she sees the hat and a paa-ii-r of trousers.” and he laughed and laughed and laughed. i, unlike you, have no medical reason for this. so go in a “Bed of Glory” to the bon jovi concert, and enjoy, girl!!

Leave a Reply

