the best spent 99 cents

I can say for sure the best 99 cents I’ve spent in the last few days. (Can you?)

It was for the song “Hips Don’t Lie” by Shakira (I’m a bit behind the times, it came out in 2006). I think I’ve listened to it 47 million times since then. It’s become my go-to when I walk down the street with my iPod tucked in my coat pocket. So much so, in fact, all of my other 3,679 songs pale in comparison. When I try to listen to something else, my thumb hits repeat like a spasm. It’s like my morning shot of caffeine, only healthier. The song makes me walk taller and gives me a bounce to my step.

I’ve played it on my computer several times, too, when my roommate has been around. The other night, we were couch dancing, waving our hands above our heads. My roommate said today she googled Shakira at work (she’s also a reporter) and found the video on YouTube. She said: “I put my headphones on and was totally rocking out.”

One song. 99 cents. So much joy.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “the best spent 99 cents

  1. Pingback: Radio voice « Happy Living

Leave a Reply

