key bridge

I don’t think I could ever tire of walking over the Key Bridge from Rosslyn to Georgetown in the early evening when it’s 50 degrees and the city is quiet during the holiday. A red light blinks in the Washington Monument to the right. The lights from the warehouse office buildings on Canal Street flicker in the Potomac River. The Georgetown chapel stands higher above the rest of the shopping district, like the churches in small European cities do. The water is black below me and still. Thirty-something men run by with their i-Pods and winter caps and nod and smile. Every time I walk over, I always notice graffiti written on the sidewalk on each end of the bridge that say “Disarm” in block letters and it makes me reflect about the power people in this city hold.

On Thursday, I walked over to Georgetown after work to wait to have dinner with N. I wandered into Dean & Deluca and asked a woman to grind the house blend into espresso. It gives off the most wonderful coffee aroma that makes my nose tingle. I also bought a small chai and sat in the glass-enclosed patio and read “The Other Boleyn Girl” while soft jazz played on the speakers. N. sent me a text at 6:30 saying he would be late — 7:30 — and I wrote back I was content where I was, so no hurry.

N. picked me up on M Street and we drove to Old Town Alexandria and split sushi at the Asian Bistro before going to PX Bluelight. The bar upstairs from Eamon’s in an 100-year-old townhouse feels homey and relaxed, like a drawing room. We sat at the bar and talked about “firsts” (first kiss, first drink, first time smoking a cigar, etc.) and Shakespeare and the “mixologist” worked hard on each drink, lighting orange rinds on fire and rubbing them along the rims of the glasses. He made a drink up for me that he called “On the Fly” that had Maker’s Mark, orange (I think), egg white (I gave him a look like “are you really putting an egg in my drink?”) and tonic water. I’m sure there were more ingredients, but it was sweet and tasty and a perfect way to end an already peaceful evening.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

